The Next Big Thing

Book-Cover-Legs_webThanks to Jordan Rosenfeld for tagging me in this Q&A literary game.  It’s the kind of thing I’d normally procrastinate doing, but since my novel comes out January 2013, it’s a great exercise in getting me out of my marketing frenzy and back to what matters: the book.  Plus, it gives me an excuse to let people know what it’s about.  The title of this post may be a bit of a pipe dream, but I like to aim high, so why not?

What is the working title of your book?

Rock My World

Where did the idea come from for the book? 


I had the idea for a few of the characters in grad school, but after a few failed attempts, realized I didn’t know where to take them.  I abandoned them for quite a few years to help manage my husband’s music career and didn’t give them much thought.  Somewhere in the depths of my sleep-deprived brain (when my son was around a year old) they suddenly resurfaced and told me their stories.  That was my moment of inspiration and I never looked back.

What genre does your book fall under? Contemporary women’s fiction

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Ooh!  In my dream world, I’d have Jennifer Garner play Jenna, Olivia Wilde play Airika, and Ryan Reynolds as Alex.


If-RMW-Were-a-Movie

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Jenna Jax-Anders–wife of a rockstar, daughter of a rock legend, mother to a teenage daughter–ends up in the middle of a scandal that turns her world upside down, forcing her to do damage control in the celebrity spotlight and learn to redefine herself on her own terms.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

As I said, years ago I had the inkling of a few of the characters, but once the story epiphany hit and I sat down to write, it took about four months to complete the first draft.  I got two hours a day at the library while my husband took our son to the park.  It was a good way to keep myself accountable.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

That’s such a tough question to answer. Tonally, I’d say it’s similar to Emily Giffin’s Something Borrowed.  With the music angle it probably has most in common with Lauren Weisberger’s Last Night at Chateau Marmont.  And I would love it if the independent female spirit in my book were compared to Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?


Starting with my summer breaks in college, I gravitated to books I could read in one sitting on a beach or plane, that entertained and allowed me to get lost in them.  After a while, however, I found myself frustrated by the girl-finds-and-marries-rich-man-to-live-happily-ever-after storyline.  I wanted to write a story that kept the light tone and page-turning action I loved, but put more weight on the female character’s ability to be her own heroine, in a more realistic depiction of the female experience.  Of course, most people don’t come from Jenna’s celebrity world, but I hope the themes resonate with my readers, as they did with me, writing it.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?


I think we all love an insider’s view into the world of celebrity; and music in particular holds a special place of fascination.  I loved building a story around famous people, but instead of focusing on the fame itself, using it as a point of interest to explore  family, friendship, love, betrayal, and of course, Jenna’s search to find herself–something I know I’ve spent more than my fair share on.  And yes, there are elements of the story that mirror my own life, but if you want to find out about those, you’ll want to follow my husband’s and my joint book/music tour (January-June 2013) at anovelmusictour.com.

Thanks to Jordan Rosenfeld for tagging me.  I’m excited to read  Stephanie Naman’s, Eros-Alegra Clarke’s, and Chelsea Starling’s as well, since all of us releasing books at Indie Visible are playing along.

 

Leave a Reply

