The Waiting is the Hardest Part

Right now my manuscript is with a handful of trusted readers.  I chose them all carefully and for different reasons, but the important one they have in common is that for better or worse I know they will give me their honest opinions.  Which may explain why my nails are bitten to the quick.

It also marks the first time throughout this process that I have zero control.  I can’t start editing until I have all their feedback and that makes me want to write constantly.  Of course, when I have all the time in the world to write I suddenly can’t function until all the laundry is done, and the closet cleaned out, and the car vacuumed, etc.  Any writers out there probably understand this compulsion.

But it’s good to take time away from my story, and thankfully I have heard back from some of my readers already.  So far I’m encouraged by the feedback, especially since much of the critique has been rooted in issues I had already mentally flagged and was prepared to rework.  Of course, when all their comments and critiques have finally been noted and considered along with my own (separating out my ego), there will be another, much larger version- I hope- of this same waiting game.  Did I mention I’m not very patient?

In the end, it’s all about making the story the best it can be and I am incredibly grateful to the readers I have and the support I’ve received from friends around the world encouraging me in the crazy journey.   So until next time, thanks for reading and I hope every one of you gets to do something you love today.  Why wait?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

